Chocolate Cherry Peanut Butter Dream Smoothie

by amanda

I’m going to be completely honest. I had never made a smoothie until tonight. (And I don’t know why! Because it was so easy!) But I ended my work day with an overwhelming craving for a peanut butter smoothie, and I was a bit crabby and just wanted to go home, make some chili (recipe coming soon) and feast on something really delicious and decadent and sweet.

I mean. I hit the jackpot with this one.

I knew I wanted peanut butter (which I had at home), almond milk, some cacao and some sort of fruit. So at the store I picked up: a bunch of bananas, a bag of frozen dark cherries, a bag of frozen blueberries (frozen fruit helps to give it that smoothie-like consistency), cacao chips and almond milk (Whole Foods brand – trying to find almond milk without carrageenan is a nearly impossible task. It’s also very easy to make your own, which I am going to start doing.). What happened next was so good I had to literally will every bone in my body to not down it in .5 seconds.

Chocolate Cherry Peanut Butter Dream Smoothie

So much color! This ended up being my dinner during chili prep, refilled twice.

Chocolate Cherry Peanut Butter Dream Smoothie

Serves: 1 big smoothie

Cook time: 2 minutes

Ingredients:

1 cup almond milk

2 tablespoons of your favorite natural nut or seed butter (I used peanut butter, but am looking forward to trying almond butter and sunflower seed butter)

1 whole banana (ideally frozen, but mine was not and it was fine)

3/4 cup frozen cherries

1/4 cacao chips

1-2 tablespoons hemp hearts (optional. You could also use chia seeds; I’m trying to get as much of the superfood as possible into my diet.)

1 cup ice

Directions:

Put everything into a blender and blend until creamy. Enjoy. Pour into a wine glass, because everything’s better than way. Feel totally overwhelmed by how good it is.

