Tropical Digestion: Fennel, Pineapple, Cabbage, Ginger and Mint Juice

by amanda

IMG_1955

 

 

One Sunday night, while trying to figure out what we wanted for dinner, Matt uttered something I’d never heard him say before: “I want to have some juice.”

Needless to say, I was quite excited, and this put me into high gear thinking about the infinite juicing possibilities that lay before us. Some of the juicing books Matt’s mom got us break down all the ways in which each recipe aids certain bodily systems. What flavors did we want? What new items could we juice? Did we want a juice that would give us more energy? One to aid digestion? One to build immunity? ALL OF THESE THINGS AND MORE?

After about 30 minutes of recipe hunting, we finally settled on one that combined two of our favorite things: Matt’s of mint, and mine of healthy digestion. One of which is definitely sexier than the other.

This juice is awesome. It is one of the most delicious juices I’ve ever made, even though I nearly took Matt out with the amount of ginger I put in. The pineapple especially is so fresh and rejuvenating – it has become a favorite staple in my morning juice rotation. And, for those of you who are curious, this juice does not fall short on the digestion front; it is particularly brilliant for rebalancing your system after any bout of traveling or break from normal dietary habits. If you’re feeling at all off, one of these will get you back in working order right quick.

Recipe: Tropical Digestion 

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

1 whole pineapple

4 inches ginger

1 big bunch of mint

1/4 head of cabbage

1/4 bulb of fennel

1 lemon (optional – I just put a lemon in every juice I make)

1 sprig of mint to garnish

Juice each of the ingredients, serve in your favorite cocktail glass, and enjoy immediately.

